Archive | 5:11 pm

Rambling about the World Cup.

12 Jun

Before I went cuckoo for cocoa puffs and started getting all into NASCAR, I was really into soccer. Not that MLS shit. Real soccer. International soccer. The stuff that avid soccer fans in Europe punch each other over.

It began with the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

If you don’t know this about me already, I am like the biggest German soccer fan. Not the biggest fan of the Bundesliga, but of like the national German team. Though the Bundesliga is pretty good too. But I think the English Premier League is the best of the bunch. None of that Spanish or Italian stuff 😉

I think I officially fell in love after the quarterfinal (I think) Germany-Argentina match. I mean… that was a billion kinds of amazing.

SUPER INTENSE. PENALTY KICKS ARE SO HARDCORE OMG. LIKE YOU JUST HOLD YOUR BREATH FOR THOSE 10 SHOTS.

Lehmann was my hero for months after. I mean… the guy didn’t even jump the wrong way when he went for the block. HE’S THAT AMAZING. And this was before I knew who Oliver Kahn was and how amazing he was blah blah so don’t judge me

And of course a fight breaks out afterwards. Duh. I mean… DUH.

I feel for the second guy that missed. He’s crying. Shitttt it’s like it was all his fault.

I love how happy Angela Merkel was. And all the German people. That’s really good for them. A lot of people talk about how hosting the World Cup was HUGE for Germany because they still have yet to completely shake the Holocaust. I’m glad 2006 was a good year for them in soccer.

Oh, and the third place match. Ummmm HAHHAHAA that was good. Really good. Bastian Schweinfhaeiworuewr is all kinds of beast. I love how he gets a yellow card for taking his jersey off and running around the pitch in jubilation. And I love how happy the coach (Klinsmann!) is.  And I realized Oliver Kahn is a really good goalkeeper. LOL

OKAY SO NOW WE COME BACK TO 2010…

Germany plays Australia tomorrow. I AM SUPER EXCITED. I got my chips and guacamole ready. And I’m going to be switching between the race at MIS and the game. Just becauseeeeee 😀

UMMMMMMMMMMMM SO LIKE TODAY THE US PLAYED ENGLAND AND I WAS ALL OMG ENGLAND’S GOING TO WIN EASY THE US SUCKS BLAH BLAH

And I was proven oh so wrong.

Robert fucking Green is such a fucking idiot. But I’m not going to beat up on him because each person in England is bowing his or her head in shame right now. SHAME. I mean, yeah he made up for it in the second half. BUT COME ON. BALL IN HANDS. HOLD BALL. DON’T DROP BALL.

BUT NO.

IT WAS MORE LIKE BALL ROLLING SLOWLY ON GROUND FROM BAD SHOT. STOP BALL. DROP BALL. BALL ROLL BACK. BALL ROLL IN GOAL. OWN GOAL, JUST LIKE THAT. FHA;WEORUAWEORIAWE;ORHWE;AORAWERE

Okay.

Other than that, it was a good game, especially from the Americans. They started out really badly. Like they were getting all these off sides calls and the early goal by England wasn’t even surprising considering the American defense was out to lunch. But they came back. And they got really really really really really really really really really lucky.

My favorite players are goalies. It’s because I can judge them the moment the game starts and put them in one of two categories: godly or shitastic.

Tim Howard was a godly goalie. He didn’t stop a ball and drop it and make an own goal. And he was screaming at his teammates the whole game telling them to get it together. He’s a good player. He made some good saves.

Robert Green came off as a bitchin goalie. I mean his last name is Green, and he’s all decked out in Green and he has pretty Green eyes and he’s just this pretty English guy in general. I was inclined to like him. And then he made a stupid mistake for which he will have to pay later on in the tournament. He tried to make up for it, and he kind of did, but no one’s going to forget his mistake.

I realized Wayne Rooney’s a bitchin guy. Superb player. He’s really funny too, like when he gets so mad and so intense because he’s so into the game. It’s a pity he was basically shut out of doing anything in the game until really late. I have high hopes for him. Still young. If not this time, maybe in another four years LOL

