Archive | 2:46 pm

And then there was one.

16 Jun

After seeing almost all the top contenders play, I have to say that Germany is absolutely my pick to win the World Cup this year 🙂

Spain’s upset by Switzerland was something I was kind of expecting. I feel like Spain was just way too clear of a favorite in the early stages, and that something had to go wrong for them. I seriously think they will take the loss and move on and get to the semifinals, but it’s going to stick with them, a loss like that. You can tell at the end of the game when they panicked and did everything they could to make a goal. But at the same time, the Swiss knew all they had to do was hold on and defend their goal box like their lives depended on it. I think it’s obvious that it’s going to be way easier to defend a lead than to score.

Do I feel for Spain? Kind of. Am I glad that they lost? Hell yes.

Big picture: Germany wins it all this year. Spain deserves to do well, but only when they play well. That’s where they got beat today.

Back to one of my other loves… Casey Mears is out of the 83 Red Bull car. 😦 Poor guy. He’s just having himself a shitastic time right now. No ride, no sponsors, no nothin’. Though I have to admit he underperformed in the 83 car, so I wasn’t surprised he got axed. And Scott Speed didn’t have nice things to say about him after the last race, hehe. You gotta think that figures into the equation.

HAHAHA I was just looking at the German roster, and I remembered how I was laughing at everyone’s names on Sunday. That’s really mean of me, I know 😦 But they’re so funny HAHHAHA Badstuber, Mertesacker, and one guy’s last name is Butt. HAHAHAHHAAHHAHAHAHA I seriously have the maturity of a 5-year-old, my bad.

Okay, I’ve talked about soccer an awful lot in the past couple of days. Now I’ll bore you with some details in my life.

Well, actually, I haven’t been talking much about myself since nothing has really happened. I’ve been watching the World Cup religiously, which I’m sure is very obvious. I should’ve studied, but I haven’t yet. I’m planning on starting that sooner or later… haha

I’m so happy the cup is back on this year. The timing was really impeccable.

I thought I would have a really tough time after everything that happened, and the final decision to sever forever a really good friendship was not easy on me. I cried a lot, buckets and buckets of tears, but otherwise, I kept it all to myself, and I just kind of dealt with it, unlike last time when I was constantly at odds with the predicament.

I feel like now that I’m not fighting it, it’s become easier. And a couple matches of soccer’s helped too 🙂 There’s so much out there besides this cycle that I boxed myself into, this cycle of getting hurt and letting myself get hurt and being bitter and lashing out.

I’ve begun to enjoy what I love again. I’ve spent more time taking care of myself, doing what I need to do for myself. I’ve been doing my work in a more time-efficient manner, sleeping earlier, talking more to my friends.

I know I always said I’d be there, but I realized that was not what was best for me. I was trying to be nice, trying to make an impossible situation work. All I did was complicate things and make the whole situation worse.

I think at the end of the day, yeah, I went through a lot of pain. Was it worth it though? Absolutely.

We were not without our good times. That’s not even something I should’ve hinted at, something I should’ve used as an excuse. There was so much good. We had meaningful conversations. I felt like I was really connecting with someone beyond this shallow so-called “friendly” facade, which is something I don’t often do. I became friends with someone that most people barely know, someone who is a quiet but amazing individual with the world at his fingertips and someone I would love to be. You all know him by name, but I got to know so much more. And for that once-strong friendship, I am extremely thankful.

Where are we now? Strangers. But I don’t say that with spite. To have had someone that special in my life means the world to me. So yeah, the candle’s burnt out, extinguished, gone. When we next speak, it’ll be like we never knew one another before. But I would be really glad to have another shot, no strings attached.

I guess right now, I’m just scared that I’m not even going to get another shot. I feel like this time, I pushed him just a little too much. And yeah, if I do talk to him again, he’ll act like everything’s fine, but I feel like this was something he’s always going to remember and keep in the back of his head.

Ughh okay I don’t want to think too much about this or I’m going to basically lose all the progress I’ve made in the past couple of days. Think about the good, stay positive… always!

Tomorrow Argentina plays ummmm someone HAHA I don’t remember who. All I know is Argentina has an easy group.

I’m pretty sure there aren’t any AMAZING matches tomorrow.

Oh, I just checked. Nothing spectacular. Ehhhh yeah. France/Mexico is a bit of a tossup… IMHO just saying yeah yeah?!

BUT FREAKING OMG FRIDAY I’M GOING TO ASK MY PARENTS TO CALL IN SICK FOR ME BECAUSE HOLY SHIT. YOU GOTS GERMANY/SERBIA FIRST THING IN THE EARLY AM (4:30 BOOOO), THEN GHANA/AUSTRALIA (don’t really care HAHA), AND THEN FUCKING ENGLAND/ALGERIA. FUCKING ENGLAND. FUCK FUCK ENGLAND.

I mean that in like the good way. As in I really really really really really want to watch this game. Because my baby has a really really really really good chance of possibly starting this game, which is actually something Capello’s keeping under wraps for now. OMG IF HE STARTS AND I MISS IT, I’M GOING TO BE PISSED. Yes, I know there’s ESPN3 but like… I wanna watch that shit live. I want to see him play in all his 6’5″ of goalkeeping glory.

WE’LL SEE… Rest assured I will be watching that match one way or another on Friday.

Oh, and CHYEAH I want to see Germany in action but 4:30 is just not something I don’t think I’m gonna do, though I MIGHT because I even considered doing it to watch the Dutch and I don’t even like them. And it’s also like… I don’t think Germany’s going to lose to Serbia. Just saying. Upsets are possible, yes, but like yeah. I just don’t think it’s gonna happen. I have faith in my Germans.

I just realized that the group stages take for-freaking-ever LOLOL they’re not over until the 25th booooooo

Ummmm okay I really hope the US is second in group C because round of 16 kicks off with second place of group C versus first place of group D, which will almost certainly be Germany. If England is second and has to play Germany that early, Annie’s going to throw a fit 😦 I DON’T WANT TO SAY GOODBYE TO EITHER TEAM THAT EARLY, but if I have to pick, I’d pick Germany. Even if that means my man’s gotta go home early.

